LOUIE: A REFLECTION ON 2012

Having come out of the apocalypse unscathed I think its time for a reflection of my year and the highlights…

So the year started with a cover for SUPERSUPER featuring fellow Street Squadder Mimi Wade, with beautiful hair by Sami Knight, also from the Street Squad, this was a delight and a mighty add to my collection of Mimigraphs…
Additional team members where stylist Namalee Bolle and makeup artist Bea Sweet….

no.1

And what a better way to celebrate than the very launch of the Street Squad, where I ‘dj’d’ and definitely drank my own body weight in alcohol with the rest of the squad… What a fab night!

Below is Harriet, Mimi, Sami, Nick Irwin, Stevie, Andy, Lucy & me!

IMG_1368 LOW RES

Then out came another cover for Ocean Sky’s on board magazine, styled by David Motta, and with Hair and Makeup by Street Squadders Lucy and Sami…

no.2no.3

Me on set, pretending my ride was here… One day!

no.4

Then came February and Sami, Lucy and myself had the pleasure of shooting Gizzi Erskine, this was a really fun day and we all bonded with an accidental celebration at the Doodle Bar afterwards where the drinks kept flowing as did the doodles, oh and the story’s… most of which I doubt I could share online!

Gizzi is a dark horse and we love her!

no.5

I moved to a warehouse Hackney Wick, where my life changed… I had a couple of amazing party’s. Heres a Polaroid from the moving in party… you can see fellow Bed Head pals Mimi, Lucy and Sami in there somewhere!

no.6

And then there was my Galactic birthday party later in the year… thats me on the left as a Galactic Goddess!

no.7

Lucy, Sami and myself shot a few more editorials, here are some snaps from a few…. The left was for Idol Magazine, styled by Celia Jane-Ukwenya and the right was styled by Sophie Gaten.

no.8 no.9

 The Olympics came, and for a while there it felt like the apocalypse had come early, as I was so near to the stadium there where police an helicopters everywhere, day and night… but finally the opening ceremony came and I celebrated with my mum (below), my gorgeous friend and muse Georgie Hobday and her fella Moses manly, we started at this party you can see us at, with palm trees and WAG’s, then moved onto the roof of my new flat (I had moved from the warehouse) and celebrated Hackney Wick style! Georgie threw up but me and my mum partied till the wee hours… This was a fab night…

no.10

 So, back to work stuff… I then had the pleasure of shooting three lovely ladies, and Icons at that, for Schon Magazine…. Princess Julia, who I have known since I moved to London (she’s hard to miss), Diane Pernet who was over from Paris, and one of my favourite women in the world… Zandra Rhodes… who I hit it off with and had the pleasure of feasting with afterwards… inspiring woman!

no.12 no.11

 no.14

I met lots of amazing people, one that of them that stood out was this special lady, Nova Dando, who I am now very fond of… expect lots of collaborations from us in the new year… This is us on her birhday, (Me on the left, the wonderful Charlie Le Mindu in the middle and Nova on the right)

no.15no.16 

I walked for Roberto Piqueras show, in the BRITISH HISTORY MUSIUM… eek! Here we all are outside after the show…I went behind the camera a couple of times for my sweet friend Eleanor Hardwick, here is a preview of a music video she made with myself and some our mutual friends.

no.17

And then a few months later, here I am for her Tarot inspired shoot for Rookie Mag, I was obviously judgement!

no.18

 I shot some really fun stuff like this campaign below, which was for Strut.

 no19

And another shoot with Ellie Goulding, with Sami and Lucy on beauty and Brett Bailey styling…

no20

 One of my biggest highlights of the year was my mums wedding, which took place with about 60 guests in Cornwall a few months ago, we spent almost a week there, in Watergate Bay, a beautiful hotel on the beach, where we dined on beautiful food every night, including at Jamie Olivers below the hotel, swam in the pool, drank cocktails in the hot tub overlooking the sea, and even went boogie boarding… then of course there was the beautiful wedding…

Here is me giving my mum away, to ‘Moon River’ sung by Audrey Hepburn in breakfast at Tiffany’s. It was all very moving!

no21

 Then to finish the year I did a few shoots I really enjoyed, including an editorial with Iggy Azalea, who I love, and a large collection of beautiful images with Rita Ora, who is fab and a delight to shoot, and really gives it her all.. These shoots will both be coming out in the new year…

no22

mo23

 Obviously there was a lot that filled these cracks, some really fun things, but theres only so much I can fit in a blog post… I had a really great year and can’t wait for 2013… Big love to everyone !

 

xx

 

For updates follow me on Twitter…

http://www.twitter.com/LouieBanks

