SAMI – Matilda the Musical!

Last week, I has the pleasure of having family stay from abroad. I took them to see the new(ish) musical ‘Matilda’, with Music and Lyrics by Antipodean stand up comic Tim Minchin, and book by Dennis Kelly, based on the book by Roald Dahl of the same name.I’ve read so many wonderful things written about the show, and I had been looking forward to seeing it for some time, and it was truly wonderful. The whole of the Cambridge theatre has the air of the children’s section at your local library, even the ushers seem to be extra specially friendly for this production. The set was gloriously framed in blues, and giant scrabble letters spelling out some of the words one assumes Miss. Honey was teaching at school that day. 

honey

If you’ve seen the film, don’t expect a copycat. This production is much more loyal to the original Roald Dahl book. Produced by the RSC, I don’t think i’d have expected anything less. The cast were all magnificent, with special mention going to all the children, I found myself many times thinking, “Where on earth did they find these wonderful kids!” they really brought the whole show to life. Another special mention must go to David Leonard, who made every second on stage count in his portrayal of meanie Miss Trunchbull. Having to follow in the rather large, (and now broadway treading) footsteps of Bertie Carvel he really takes this role, and makes it his own, Or should I say her own. 

photo (1)                   trunch

The score for the show is astoundingly good, I’m an on/off fan of Tim Minchin’s standup, and really think a lot of his ‘ditties’ are hit or miss, but for this he’s really pulled out all the stops, and each song gets an A+ from me. So good in fact, as soon as I got home, I downloaded the soundtrack, to add to my burgeoning collection!I would recommend seeing this at any age, the jokes are appropriate and funny for old and young alike, and without sounding too cliché it really is a feel good show. Take your Mum, take your kids, or take your hard to please boyfriend, but please, take someone and go!

