HARRIET: DISTORTION FESTIVAL!

THE 5 DAY STREET PARTY.

I landed in Copenhagen yesterday to cover DISTORTION festival for i-D. The architecture is completely stunning, like a graphic designers haven. Clean cut shapes, perfectly symmetrical, the residents mirror this, perfection walking amongst perfection. Okay so think Shoreditch with an extreme face lift and a more natural “bottle blonde” look, less “ugly is beautiful” and more “we are all beautiful”. I am being chaperoned round (I asked for a nanny but they said it was out of budget) by a delicious Scandinavian model and her friends. They all have dirty minds, pistol whip the blue-eyed boys and drink beer and suckle sausages until their bellies explode.

Everyone is here for the atmosphere, It’s exhilarating, the streets are cordoned off for this 5 day street party.

After mistaking Copenhagen for a clean-cut quiet city I turned a corner to see 200,000 people jumping on church spires and figures heads to Snoop Doggy Dog, 4 handsome German boys on stage rapping along to Sean Paul and a man using a McDonald’s bag as a sun hat (no eyes holes cut out).

It was complete insanity, every corner you turn a different genre of music awaits you, I think I’m in a jungle.

This is a picture of what I saw last night.

PHOTO BY: Mark Stig Bertelsen

   THE CROWDS IN THE CITY LAST NIGHT:

PHOTO BY: Thorbjørn Chiloux Fessel

Off to ride the “devils” 666 bus now, 2 hour party on a day bus, used by day-to-day Copenhagen commuters.

People are staring at me thinking I’m a rose-coloured alien, it’s an attention seekers paradise. Don’t know if ill come back. Do they sell TIGI in Denmark? We’ll see…